When you suffer an injury arising from a mishap at your workplace, are involved in a work-related accident, or develop an occupational disease resulting from your work, you may be able to file a workers’ compensation claim in New Jersey. Always seek the guidance of a Workers’ Compensation Lawyer who understands workers’ compensation laws in the state.
In New Jersey, you are not required to prove any fault on the part of the employer in causing the injury or disease when filing a claim. All that is required is that the accident or illness is work-related. Since the state operates a no-fault workers’ compensation system, even if you are responsible for your work-related injury, you are most likely covered, as well.
Workers’ compensation is a benefits program that provides medical payments and wage replacement to injured workers. The program is designed to encourage safety in the workplace. It establishes remedies to ensure fast and reasonable income and medical benefits to individuals impacted by work-related accidents, illnesses, and hazards. Common work accidents that result in compensation include:
- Slip and fall accidents
- Vehicle accidents
- Equipment and machinery accidents
- Construction site accidents
Employers have a variety of responsibilities to fulfill under the federal workers’ compensation law. When these responsibilities are not fulfilled, companies can be fined and injured employees can sue their employers.
Employers are required to post notices about workers’ compensation in visible places for the employees to see and learn about their employee rights and give details about workers’ compensation benefits.
All employees, including new hires, should be aware of this information. Employers must provide injured employees with a workers’ compensation claim form with 24 hours of learning about the accident injury.
Filing a Workers’ Compensation Claim in New Jersey
If you are injured at work or develop an employment-related medical condition, you need to report it to your employer immediately. Failing to report the injury within 90 days could cause you to lose the right to collect your benefits. A Workers’ Compensation Lawyer with offices in Oakhurst and Howell can help New Jersey workers get the compensation they deserve.
After you report the injury or illness, your company will contact its workers’ compensation insurance carrier. The insurance carrier will complete your First Report of Injury form and submit the form to the New Jersey Division of Workers’ Compensation. They will start your workers’ compensation claim.
Workers’ Compensation Medical and Disability Coverage
Workers’ compensation benefits cover a variety of medical treatments, which may include doctor visits, surgery, rehabilitation and physical therapy, medications, and other medical treatments. The insurance company will pay one’s health care providers directly. Under New Jersey law, your employer or its insurance carrier has the right to choose the medical doctor that provides your medical treatment. Selecting a doctor without approval may cause your medical bills not to be covered. Workers’ compensation benefits offer coverage for temporary disability, permanent partial disability, and permanent total disability.
Seek Legal Help in New Jersey
If you have been injured on the job, experienced an illness due to workplace hazards, or work for a company that refuses to pay you compensation for your injuries, contact the Workers’ Compensation lawyers at Schibell Law.
Schibell Law has law offices throughout New Jersey, and they will assist you with legal advice concerning all workers’ compensation matters. Call 732-774-1000 for more information or to set up a free case evaluation.